Ott India News Logo
Recent Posts
Connect with:
Saturday / September 24.
HomeDefence‘Durand Cup’ all set for a comeback for its 130th edition

‘Durand Cup’ all set for a comeback for its 130th edition

Durand Cup
Share Now

PIBDelhi: The world’s third oldest and Asia’s oldest football tournament, the Durand Cup is all set to make a comeback! Founded by Mortimer Durand at Shimla in 1888, the football tournament is held every year. Due to the Covid-19 pandemic, this tournament is making a comeback this year on 5th September 2021.

The prestigious tournament was first held in 1888, at Dagshai. The tournament was a conscious way to initially maintain health and fitness amongst the British troops. Later it was opened to civilians and currently is one of the leading sports events in the world. Mohun Bagan & East Bengal are the most successful teams in the history of the Durand Cup winning it 16 times each.

The 130th Edition of the game is being held in Kolkata under the patronage of the Chief of Defence Staff and the three heads of the Army, Navy, and Airforce, as well as the backing of West Bengal Chief Minister Mamta Banerjee.

Also Read: AFCAO celebrates its Platinum Jubilee year

Gokulam Kerala's victory in Durand Cup 2019

The Tournament was shifted from Delhi to Kolkata in 2019. Gokulam Kerala won the tournament by beating Mohun Bagan 2-1 in the finals. This year, the West Bengal capital will again host the four-week-long tournaments. Various matches will be played at different venues in and around Kolkata. 16 participating teams from across the country, including 4 teams from the Services, are set to bring out the competitive and true sportsman spirit.

Two phases of Durand Cup!

  1. Round-Robin
  2. Knockouts.

The group stage round has a total of 16 teams, divided into four groups of four teams each. To complete their team rosters, each side must have a minimum of 22 players and a maximum of 27. In terms of the overseas player limit, only four players are allowed in a team in its lineup. Whereas, only three can be named as openers. The teams that finish first in their respective groups after the round-robin schedule advance to the semi-finals stage. The winner of Group A will meet the winner of Group D, while the winner of Group B will face the winner of Group C.

Three trophies to be presented…

The winning team is presented with three trophies

  1. The President’s Cup; which was first presented by Dr Rajendra Prasad
  2. The Durand Cup, i.e the original challenge prize – a rolling trophy
  3. Shimla Trophy; which was first presented by citizens of Shimla in 1903 and since 1965, a rolling trophy


The All India Football Federation, IFA (West Bengal) and the Government of West Bengal has extended their dynamic support. The 130th Edition of the Durand Cup is said to be a landmark event.

For more such updates, download the OTT INDIA App:



No comments

leave a comment